• icon 1 (02) 8005 7066
  • icon 2 03 669 2973
  • icon 3 (714) 987 9833

Gmail’s Send + Archive button explained

We’re all looking for ways to save time and clicks when working with email. Gmail’s Send + Archive button is a great feature that can help with this by letting you perform two actions with one click. However, many of the attendees at my training sessions either don’t know it exists or are confused about how it works. In this post, I’ll explain what the Send + Archive button does, how to turn it on and why it should be your new favourite Gmail feature!

What does the ‘Send + Archive’ button do?

Once enabled, the ‘Send + Archive’ button appears whenever you are replying to an email. Here’s an example:

When you click it, your reply is sent and the email you are replying to is archived. These are your two actions in one click.

Now compare this to what would happen if you just clicked the ‘Send’ button. Your reply would be sent and the original email would still be in your inbox. That means you would then have to perform another action on the original email, such as archiving it or moving it to a label.

Ever wondered what the Send + Archive button in #Gmail does? This blog post explains it all. Click To Tweet

But where does the email go when I archive it?

I am so glad you asked! I have explained this in detail in my blog post on demystifing Gmail’s archive button, so I recommend checking that out to get a complete understanding. In brief, if the email you are replying to was only in the inbox, you will see it in the ‘All mail’ label after it is archived. However, if it was in the inbox and also had another label applied, it will be in ‘All Mail’ and the other label after it is archived. In the example below, the email would be shown in the ‘All Mail’ and ‘Training sessions’ labels after clicking ‘Send + Archive’.

When is the Send + Archive button useful?

There are two key scenarios in which the ‘Send + Archive’ button is most useful.

Scenario 1: If you archive your emails

Some people prefer just to archive their emails, rather than filing them away into labels. If that’s you, this feature will be a huge time saver. You can use it on all email replies and clear your inbox fast.

Scenario 2: If the email already has a label applied

If the email you are replying to already has a label applied (like in the example above), it’s definitely worth using the ‘Send + Archive’ button. There are two reasons why the email might already have a label: (1) You have previously moved the email into a label, but it returned to your inbox because someone replied to the conversation (will only happen if you use conversation view), or (2) You are using filters to automatically label incoming emails. You can learn more about this latter method in my blog post on using Gmail filters to auto-label and file your emails.

Could the Send + Archive button in #Gmail save you time and clicks? Click To Tweet

How do I get the Send + Archive button?

If you’ve decided to give the ‘Send + Archive’ button a go, here’s how you enable it:

1. Click the Settings (cog) button > Settings.
2. In the General section, scroll down until you find the Send and Archive section.
3. Select the option to Show “Send & Archive” button in reply.
4. Scroll down and click Save Changes.

The Send + Archive button is my new favourite #Gmail feature! Learn how you can use it in this post. Click To Tweet

Are you feeling overwhelmed by emails and want to learn how to better manage your Gmail Inbox? Check out our Get efficient with Gmail the SMART way online course!


Skills Checklist Will Help You Find Out.

Download Free Guide

Latest Blog Posts, New Tips And Tricks

Sign Up Now

Five ways to make the most of your micro:bit

Integrating STEAM and robotics in the classroom can be expensive. Thankfully there are many low-cost options such as the BBC micro:bit which, with a little resourcefulness and tinkering can be a great tool to get started with. If you are new to the micro:bit be sure to check out this

VIEW POST
Google_1

How to create a copy of a Google Doc with 1 click

It happens a bit too often. You have prepared a Google Doc, Sheet or slide deck that is formatted really well, has great images and everything looks fabulous. If you share it with editing permissions, there is a very high chance that all your work will get messed up. If

VIEW POST

Here’s What
Our Clients Say

PR Industrya

Client

In 2018, Using Technology Better designed and delivered a two phase post-migration training program for this New Zealand based graphic design firm. The initial goal of the training program was to reduce frustration with G Suite, with the long term aim of facilitating a change in culture and collaboration that can lead to transformative practices

VIEW FULL CASE STUDY

FREE PDF DOWNLOAD

Are you at a beginner, intermediate, or advanced level? This skills checklist will help you find out.

×

FREE PDF DOWNLOAD

Are you at a beginner, intermediate, or advanced level? This skills checklist will help you find out.

We will only send you awesome stuff!

×